Saturday, 23 July 2011

CFA Course Syllabus

The CFA programme consists of three levels
Level 1
The Level I curriculum concentrates on tools and concepts relating to investment valuation and portfolio management. The course also covers securities laws and regulations, and the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct. The curriculum highlights an overview of asset valuation and portfolio management practices.

Level 2
The Level II syllabus focuses on asset valuation, where candidates must employ concepts of quantitative techniques, economic analysis, accounting-in analysing and valuing investments. Students should have a thorough understanding of capital market theory and industry and company analysis. 

Level 3
Level III will develop students’ knowledge of portfolio management in greater depth. Candidates must apply the knowledge and skills learned in Levels I and II to the portfolio management process – from estimating and analysing objectives, investor constraints, and capital-market expectations to making asset-allocation decisions.

CFA Exam Topics with their weights: